This Tender Land

This Tender Land

A Novel

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
24
For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing , "a gripping, poignant tale swathed in both mythical and mystical overtones" (Bob Drury, New York Times bestselling author) that follows four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace . 1932, Minnesota - the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will fly into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that is "more than a simple journey; it is a deeply satisfying odyssey, a quest in search of self and home" ( Booklist ).
Publisher: 2019
ISBN: 9781476749310
Branch Call Number: OVERDRIVE
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
JordanJankowski
Jun 11, 2020

I thought this book was incredible. I have also read "Ordinary Grace" by Kent Krueger, and although unrelated, both are captivating historical fiction novels based in Northern Minnesota. "This Tender Land" mixes the 1930's, racial relations, friendship, grief, love, and loss with a little bit of fantasy for a novel well worth anybody's time.

j
JANMAYS
May 15, 2020

About orphans who ran away - historical fiction. Possible book club.

e
ellenorndorf
Mar 10, 2020

I heard him speak at Mount Olivet. It took a while to get there but was really wonderful!

m
mls2
Feb 20, 2020

Another good read by WKK!

c
Christine55416
Feb 13, 2020

Small town Minnesota in depression era 1932, Indian schools and race relations, abuse of children and what they do to survive, a compelling read that I dove into and didn't come up for air until I was at the end. Loved it.

l
lindemuldercr
Jan 29, 2020

Modern Mrs Darcy

i
ididarodkid
Jan 28, 2020

I agree with the comment from Bookworm1136. "This is a book with a heart". Maybe my age (91), yet I related to those years. Little is known of those times and circumstances. The book contained many passages worthy of thinking deeply about this odyssey. The twists of their adventure was like a tapestry of our life experience. A great deal of depth to contemplate. For me, it was an excellent book on many levels. For my reading experience, it was a worthy book.

1
1050ptld
Dec 16, 2019

To sad for an 84 year old to read

Four Score and Four

w
wyenotgo
Nov 24, 2019

As the title will suggest, this book captures a particular place and time with great sensitivity: Minnesota, small towns and countryside, depression era. And always the presence of a river and the people who inhabit that land. Some readers may consider the plot to be derivative (runaway youngsters, economic or social outcasts, fleeing down a river — Huck Finn is sure to come to mind). Yes, the villains are perhaps a bit too evil and starkly overdrawn (but sadly, such people did exist and still do). Others may think the book overly sentimental, with hints of magical realism, calling for suspension of disbelief. One may say it's predictable — although there are certainly some unforeseen twists later on.
No matter; all is forgiven when we're presented with such an engaging group of kids who have been subjected to far more injustice and grief than any kids should have to endure, and show enormous courage and resourcefulness. And the story is told in straightforward unadorned language, no literary tricks or pretension; in places the prose reminded me of Kent Haruf, which says a lot.
Just a really good story, well told.

m
marywestcott_1
Nov 07, 2019

great great book

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PACL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top