Notes on A Cowardly Lion

Notes on A Cowardly Lion

The Biography of Bert Lahr

eBook - 2013
Rate this:
A son's funny, frank, and 2endlessly fascinating3 memoir of his father, Wizard of Oz star Bert Lahr (Harper's Magazine). Bert Lahr, best known for his role as the Cowardly Lion in The Wizard of Oz, made audiences laugh from burlesque stages to vaudeville to Broadway-and impressed them as Estragon in the American theater debut of Waiting for Godot. But reality wasn't always funny for the legendary actor and comedian, or his family. Drawing on personal recollections and the memories of his father's colleagues, a veteran writer for the New Yorker and renowned theater critic brilliantly explores both the long and glorious professional career of a Hollywood icon and the experience of growing up with him. Here, in rich detail, is Bert Lahr evolving from a low-comic star to a Ziegfeld Follies sophisticate, hamming it up with the Scarecrow and Tin Man on the set of TheWizard of Oz, and garnering rich praise as he performed in Samuel Beckett's masterpiece. But while Lahr could be equally raucous and polished in public, in private he was painfully insecure and self-absorbed, keeping his family at arm's length as he quietly battled his inner demons. 2A work of literature, a work of history, a subtle psychological study,3 Notes on a Cowardly Lion is more than one man's quest to understand his father. It is an extraordinary examination of a life on the stage and screen (Harper's Magazine). From a writer with an intimate knowledge of the theater and show business world, this is both a 2frank and objective3 (The New York Times Book Review) family memoir that will appeal to readers of Carrie Fisher's Wishful Drinking or Alan Cumming's Not My Father's Son, and a 2book-length love letter. To open it is to enter a life, to participate in a sensibility and, perhaps most important, to laugh. Uproariously3 (Life).
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : Open Road Media, 2013
ISBN: 9781453288740
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file
Additional Contributors: TotalBoox - Distributor
TBX - Distributor
Alternative Title: Biography of Bert Lahr

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PACL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top