The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes

The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes

Book - 1994 | 1st ed
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Here, for the first time, is a complete collection of Langston Hughes's poetry - 860 poems that sound the heartbeat of black life in America during five turbulent decades, from the 1920s through the 1960s. The editors, Arnold Rampersad and David Roessel, have aimed to recover all of the poems that Hughes published in his lifetime - in newspapers, magazines, and literary journals, and in his books of verse. They present the poems in the general order in which Hughes wrote them, and also provide illuminating notes and a chronology of the poet's life. Arnold Rampersad, the author of the esteemed two-volume biography of Langston Hughes, has written a perceptive and moving introduction that throws light on Langston Hughes's distinctive voice as a poet and the world in which he lived.
Publisher: New York : Knopf : Distributed by Random House, 1994
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780679426318
Branch Call Number: 811 HUGHES
Characteristics: 708 pages ; 23 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Jul 14, 2015

If you think all of Langston Hughes' poems were serious and / or politically motivated (most of them were), there are quite a few in this book that will crack you up - some fun for fun's sake, others that pushed the limit for its time. Certainly one of the most important poets of the 20th century, whose work left a print that is still noticeable to this day.

Mar 28, 2010

one of my favourite poets!! it's wonderful to have his work all in one place to enjoy.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at PACL

To Top